You Should Know

July 2002 Issue

Oats May Now Be Okay for People With Gluten Sensitivity

In a new five-year study, Finnish researchers provide the first long-term evidence that oats can be safely eaten by people with celiac disease. Also known as celiac sprue, nontropical sprue and gluten-sensitive enteropathy, celiac disease is a digestive disorder that damages the wall of the small intestine, interfering with the absorption of nutrients from food. People with celiac disease cannot tolerate a protein called gluten, found in wheat, so they must avoid that grain, as well as rye and barley,

To continue reading this entire article you must be a paid subscriber.

Subscribe to Environmental Nutrition

Get the next year of Environmental Nutrition for just $20. And access all of our online content - how to fight heart disease, cancer, stroke, diabetes, osteoporosis, Alzheimer's, and dozens of other diseases - free of charge.

Already subscribe but haven't registered for all the benefits of the website? Click here.

Subscriber Log In

Forgot your password? Click Here.